To post messages, you must join the IMS Public Community (free).   |   You also can also join the Common Cartridge Alliance.
IMS GLC Public Forums and Resources
Decrease font size
Increase font size
IMS GLC Public Forums and Resources » Common Cartridge » Structure of a common cartridge
Topic Title: Structure of a common cartridge
Topic Summary: CC 1.1 and questions
Created On: 04/11/2012 05:01 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/11/2012 05:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
donotcross03

Hello, frankly speaking I am somewhat new to the industry and am currently still learning about elearning standards as AICC, SCORM, CC.

I did find the documentation regarding IMS CC implementation and the elements that are generally included in the CC. There are still however some things that are not clear to me and i would appreciate any help on this.

The system we have allows conversion of developed content to a CC form. Questions seem to work fine, rest of content - not really. I've tried finding sample CC packages and noticed that besides imsmanifest.xml, html files and something similar to images/media folder, packages seem to have different structure

1. Imsmanifest.xml - is that the key that makes the common cartridge package what it is? I have frequently found links to LTI but I still don't really get what these are
2. is there any kind of a formal structure of a package i.e. let's say besides the manifest file there should be folders:
- media folder with media elements
- html folders with html pages containing web content - text and media
- assessment folder with assessment xml file / files
- some CC I found contained additional folders "instructions", "PDF", "Flash"
- should there also be a folder for discussion topics if this element is included in the CC package?