Learning Impact Awards Program Details

Learning Impact Awards Program DetailsLearning Impact Awards logo

Award Purpose

The Learning Impact Awards recognize the most powerful and influential uses of technology worldwide in support of learning worldwide. This unique program was created in 2007 for the purpose of recognizing outstanding applications of technology that address the most significant challenges facing the global education segment. Additionally, the Learning Impact Awards program aims to identify repeatable implementation of efficient IT practices that can help institutions and educational authorities increase access, create personalized learning environments, improve student engagement, promote actionable assessment, and advance ecosystem development.


Learning Impact Awards recognize both the product/service involved as well as the implementing institution as both collaborate to effectively leverage technology to create positive “learning impacts” and outcomes. Therefore, submissions can be made by any product or service provider or by any end-user educational institution or training provider as follows:

  • Product or service providers submitting nominations are asked to name the product(s) and/or services(s) involved as well as a specific implementation (such as University A). Each implementation constitutes a single submission. Product/service companies should submit only one nomination per product/service unless the implementation of the product/service is significantly different.
  • Institutional or other end-user submitters are asked for the same information, including product(s) or services(s) that are proprietary and not commercially available.
  • Each unrelated (not involved in the same implementation project) product or service constitutes a single submission.
  • Joint projects involving several partners are encouraged to submit, as the potential for learning impact may be greater.
  • Applicants who are prior award winners are eligible to submit a proposal that is different from the previous award.
  • All applications must be submitted online and in English.
  • Top finalists from IMS regional competitions in Australia, Japan, Korea, and Europe will be entered automatically as a finalist at the Learning Impact Leadership Institute.

Award Process

Hosted by the IMS Global Learning Consortium, the Learning Impact Awards will be judged by a panel of experts.

A select group of finalists will be selected based on criteria to identify exemplary implementations of technology that demonstrate the greatest impact or potential impact on addressing the challenges facing the global learning segment and possessing the greatest potential for generating a positive return on investment. Finalists will be invited to advance to the final round of competition to present their projects during the Learning Impact Leadership Institute. The final round of competition will consist of three parts:

  • Submission of a four-minute (or less) video pitch for the Learning Impact submission;
  • One page document outlining the challenge, solution, learning impact outcomes, and return on investment; and
  • Representatives from the designated educational institution, school district, or corporate education department, identified in the award submission as an exemplary implementation, are expected to attend the annual Learning Impact Leadership Institute to discuss and demonstrate the project with conference attendees.

Learning Impact Leadership Institute attendees will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalist at the event. Award winners will be recognized during the conference.

Award Recognition

  • Recognition and presentation of a platinum, gold, silver, or bronze medal at the Learning Impact Leadership Institute (18-21 May 2020, in Denver, Colorado).
  • Inclusion in a press release by the IMS Global Learning Consortium that will have national distribution.
  • Recognition in the annual IMS Global Learning Impact Report that analyzes the awards to provide practical advice to institutions/school districts on what they should be considering to improve accountability, access, and affordability. Download the Learning Impact Report.
  • The four-minute video pitch that was submitted as part of the review process will be included on the IMS website as an example of an exemplary practice that other institutions/school districts should consider implementing.

Award Application

The submission period for the 2020 Learning Impact Awards begins 15 January and ends on 6 March (11:59 pm PT). Upon receipt of your application, an acknowledgment will be sent via email to the applicant. There is a modest $500 processing fee, which is waived for IMS Global Learning Consortium Contributing Members and Affiliate members.

Award Categories 

Each submission must designate:

  1. Product or Service Maturity
    • Research: Products or services that have been prototyped, but not deployed operationally. Entries in the research category are evaluated on the potential impact.
    • New: Products or services have been deployed operationally within the last 12 months and have at least three adopting organizations or multiple users within an organization. Entries in the new category are evaluated on the initial and potential learning impact.
    • Established: Products or services have been deployed for at least 24 months and have at least 10 adopting organizations or multiple users within an organization. Entries are evaluated on demonstrated operational impact.
  2. Scale of Nomination
    • International solution
    • Country-wide solution
    • System or school district solution
    • Institution or school solution
    • Departmental solution
  3. Learning Impact Framework Category (each submission can apply to up to three project categories)

Evaluation Criteria

Each submission will be judged based on the extent to which the product or service addresses the Learning Impact Awards evaluation criteria.