1EdTech GLC: 1EdTech Consortium announces the Leading Practice in Learning Impact Research paper winners from the European Distance and E-Learning Network (EDEN) Valencia 2010 Conference


1EdTech Consortium announces the Leading Practice in Learning Impact Research paper winners from the European Distance and E-Learning Network (EDEN) Valencia 2010 Conference
Three top papers were selected to proceed as finalists to the global 1EdTech Learning Impact Awards competition

Download pdf

Lake Mary, FL – 8 July 2010.  1EdTech Consortium announced the winners of the Leading Practice in Learning Impact research paper competition from the EDEN (European Distance and E-Learning Network) conference in Valencia, Spain on 11 June 2010.  1EdTech Consortium and EDEN partnered to award the top three  research papers that emphasized outstanding practice in the application of technology to improve learning. The Leading Practice in Learning Impact award winners will be finalists in the global Learning Impact Awards (LIA) event.

The LIAs are unique in that they recognize the use of technology in context. Nominations describe how an educational institution, system, or countrywide initiative has leveraged technology to improve education.  The entries are evaluated according to eight criteria of impact, including improving access to learning, improving affordability of learning, and improving the quality of learning.

The Awards for Leading Practice in Learning Impact were granted to:

Catherine Coates, Jill Taylor, Leeds Metropolitan University; Julie Laxton, University of Leeds, Christine Dearnley, University of Bradford, Ian Hall, MyKnowladgeMap Ltd., United Kingdom
"Promoting the Concept of Competency Maps and Interprofessional Assessments linked to e-Portfolios to Enhance the Student Learning Experience in Preparation for Work Based Learning, Employability and Life Long Learning" <>

Rita Falcao, University of Porto, Ana Dias, Universidade do Minho, Antonio Moreira Teixeira, Universidade Aberta, Portugal, Gottfried Csanyi, Vienna University of Technology, Austria, Juri Lossenko, Estonian IT Foundation, Estonia, Sevgi Oskan, Middle East Technical University, Turkey, Laszlo Komaromi, Dennis Gabor Applied University, Hungary, Patricio Montesinos, Universidad Politecnica Valencia, Spain
"VIRQUAL: Harmonizing Virtual Mobility and the European Qualification Framework" <>

Chiara Piccolo, MENON Network EEIG, Belgium, Claudio Dondi, MENON Network; Nikitas Kastis, Lambrakis Foudation; Jennifer Palumbo, Ecsite – the European Network of Science Centres and Museums; Sofoklis Sotiriou, Ellinogermaniki Agogi; Nikolas Athanasiadis, Intrasoft Inc.
"Open Learning for Science Education - The Richness of European Science Centres and Museums Connected to Users and Learners Worldwide" <>

All three winners will be able to compete with other finalist from around the world at the Learning Impact Awards held in Long Beach, California the 16-19 May 2011. Nominations for the global competition can be submitted at /learningimpact2011/liformchoice.cfm until 31 December 2010. Information and registration for the Learning Impact Conference is available at: /learningimpact2011/index.html

1EdTech is supported by over 150 organizations – the world’s leaders in educational and learning technology, including leading educational technology product suppliers and publishers, leading educational institutions, and leading government organizations. Current Contributing Members of 1EdTech GLC are listed at /members.html

About 1EdTech Consortium (1EdTech GLC)
1EdTech Learning is a nonprofit member organization that strives to enable the growth and impact of learning technology in higher education, K-12, and corporate education worldwide. 1EdTech GLC members are leading corporations, higher education institutions, school districts and government organizations worldwide that are enabling the future of education by collaborating on interoperability standards and major adoption projects for the digital support of education and learning.  1EdTech GLC also sponsors Learning Impact: a global awards program and conference that recognizes the impact of innovative technology on educational access, affordability, and quality. For more information, visit